See Michael Shanks as Smallville’s Hawkman

(Excerpts from ComicBookMovie.com interview)

 

Smallville’s First Hawkman Costume Photo , Plus an Interview with Michael Shanks!

Here is the first sneak peek of Michael Shanks in the Hawkman costume he dons for Smallville’s highly anticipated two-hour movie event.

 SHANKS-lg-hawkman   Hawkman comic

The special, which features the Justice Society, airs February 5th, 2010.

In between practicing his flying stunts above the Daily Planet rooftop and Chloe’s Watchtower, the Stargate SG-1 alum spoke with William Keck from the Vancouver set:

It seems we’ll be seeing a lot of you soaring through the air, eh?

Yeah. There are a few scenes involving him flying into various sets. One of them is in Watchtower and we’ll also see him on the Daily Planet roof. And at the end of the day, Hawkman takes off his wings and hangs them in the closet.

How’s your flying been going?

Today’s my practice day. There’s no stunt guy, so I need to ace this so I don’t make Hawkman look like a goofball. It’s traditional wire work that involves strapping on this harness so that large men with giant arms can lift me up and manipulate me. I’m also swinging around Hawkman’s giant mace as a weapon.

And you’ll be reprising your Stargate character on two more upcoming episodes of Stargate: Universe?

Yes. I made a cameo in the pilot and they’re keeping me alive to pass the torch. The next one coming up is titled “Human”, and back-references my character first initiating Dr. Rush (Robert Carlyle) into the Stargate program, but my character exists more as a figment of Dr. Rush’s imagination. And then in “Subversion”, near the end of the season, we’ll see myself and Richard Dean Anderson helping out with an investigation where sabotage took place back on Earth.

You also have an episode of Sanctuary coming up?

I think I’m in episode nine playing a murky character named Jimmy who finds out he has a sketchy background similar to Kate Freelander played by Agam Darshy.

 

 

To read the entire article:  Interview with Michael Shanks

 

Source:

ComicBookMovie.com

Leave a Reply

